top of page

f-stop Tilopa BC review

Why did I buy this backpack?


Due to the hikes I planned in British Columbia I was a bit afraid whether my Flipside 300 would be tough and comfortable enough. I really like this backpack, especially because of the fact that you can't reach the content while it is on your back. But I started searching for another backpack with the followings requirements:

  • Theft protection

  • Measurements and weight suitable for carry-on baggage in airplanes

  • water repellent

  • Comfortable to carry also on long hikes


I found f-stop from Saint Louis. They build camera bags for outdoor photographers. I decided to take the Tilopa BC although the specified measurements on f-stop's webpage are a little bit too big for carry-on baggage. For the internal camera unit I chose the ICU Pro.


Let me give a short gear review about the backpack and the ICU. It will not be very particularized because there are already hundreds of well done reviews on the web. I want to concentrate on the facts which are important for me and I did not find much information about while researching.


One of the questions I asked myself was if the UCU must have an separate Notebook sleeve. No it does not! The Tilopa BC already has one which protects your gear when the backpack is on the ground to access the camera.


How I've mentioned before the specified measurements are a bit too big for curry-on luggage. But in reality the maximum size is given because of the aluminum frame inside of the backpack. This frame has exactly the size which is allowed on a plane. The measurements of the f-stop webpage are for the case all the pockets on top of the backpack are filled too. A factor I didn't considered before was the weight. I put my Canon 70d and four lenses inside (Canon 70-200mm, Canon 18-135mm, Sigma 8-16mm and Sigma 30mm) and the backpack weighed 6kg - maximum for a plane. The remaining equipment, like a flashlight, batteries, filters and a remote control had to go to my suitcase. If you have more delicate stuff you can take only the UCI on board and put the Backpack into your suitcase.


At the outside of the backpack are a lot of straps which can carry your tripod. Unfortunately the staps sometimes open itselfs so I had to knot the loop. But mostof the time I use the method of carrying a tripod which I have showed here. With all my camera equipment, a little bit to eat and drink and perhaps some additional clothing the Tilopa BC is quite comfortable to carry. But even with the waist belt my shoulders hurt sometimes.

To be able to remove the UCI, which's organization structure can be totally customized, is really cool. Without this unit you just have a big backpack to go shopping and carry your milk and bread home. But I really wish there would be a mesh pocket at the side to put stuff in you have to reach fast, like a water bottle.


Availability is really bad in Europe. I have never seen the Tilopa BC in a store. That's why you have to buy online. And even here backpacks and UCIs from f-Stop are hardly in stock. There is quite a big demand on them at the moment. I bought my stuff at the online store of Fotomax and I am really happy with the service. Actually I wanted to have the Medium Slope ICU but as I asked they gave me the bigger (and more expensive) Pro UCI for the same price because the Slope was not in stock. I was a bit afraid if the large UCI and my 17" notebook would fit in the backpack at the same time, but that is not a problem at all.


If you have to be moveable the Tilopa BC is perhaps a little bit too big. I prefer my smaller flipside to make cityscape photography especially if you use public transport. You can use this one like a vendor's tray to access your equipment. That's not really working with the Tilopa BC because the waist belt is to huge. But because of the durable materials it is no problem to place it to the ground.


In summary I can call this a great backpack with only a few disadvantages.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page