top of page

How to carry a tripod

My Manfrotto O55XPROB is quite heavy, but I love it because of its stability. A solid carbon tripod would be an alternative but I don't like the prices of those and in fact a carbon tripod will break more easily.


But especially while hiking I hate the weight. I tried several kinds of carrying positions. But there is no difference whether I carry it in my hands or with a belt at my shoulders. The tripod interferes walking and after some time the weight becomes more and more.


Some months ago I found a solution and I tested it at several hikes. It works perfectly: I carry the tripod like a collar. Some people look a bit amused, but I don't care.


Like the picture below shows, the emphasis is directly on my shoulders. The head of the tripod is stabilized by my backpack.


Stativ tragen 1+2.jpg

With this strategy I can hike for several hours and don't need my hands. Perhaps the tip isn’t very spectacular but it makes life easier! So try it out!



Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page